Life memberships

The NPA ACT constitution (section 5.1d) states that ‘any person who has rendered meritorious service to or on behalf of the Association may, on the recommendation of the committee, be elected a life member by a general meeting, and for all purposes shall be considered a financial member of the Association’. The NPA committee has a clear, fair and transparent process for nominating honorary life members.

Nominations will be called each year at the March monthly meeting and will close at the April monthly meeting. The AGM in August will vote on a recommendation from the committee. Appointments will not necessarily be made every year, and only in exceptional circumstances will two be made in any one year. The number of life members should not exceed about 3% of the membership current when applications are called except in exceptional circumstances.

A working group will assess written nominations from members and may co-opt other life members.

Nominations should describe the nominee’s:

  1. current or previous NPA ACT position(s) or role(s), e.g., president, secretary, treasurer, committee member, Bulletin editor, web master, working group/subcommittee convenor (such as Outings, Environment, Submissions, Publications, Work parties, Gudgenby Bush Regeneration Group, website, office, catering/displays), working group/subcommittee member, NPA ACT representative (e.g., Conservation Council of the South East Region and Canberra, National Parks Australia Council), significant financial benefactor and other (specify)
  2. major achievements in that position or role.
  3. effectiveness.
  4. length of service in that position or role.

Applications are kept confidential from the proposed life member and need to be seconded in writing by another NPA member. The working group will make a recommendation to the committee at its meeting in July.

Life Members

2023  Sabine Friedrich

2022  Dianne Thompson OAM

2020  Rod Griffiths

2018  Chris Emery

2017  Martin Chalk

2015  Max Lawrence

2013  Judy Kelly

2012  Christine Goonrey

2011  Annette Smith, Mike Smith

2010  Sonja Lenz, Kevin McCue

2008  Len Haskew (d)

2007  Clive Hurlstone, Adrienne Nicholson

2003  Syd Comfort, Eleanor Stodart (d)

1999  Olive Buckman (d), Jack Smart (d)

1995  Alastair Morrison (d)

1991  Kevin Frawley

1989  Neville Esau

1988  Charles Hill (d)

1985  Ian Currie (d)

1984  Reg Alder (d), Dr Robert Story OAM (d)

1982  Fiona MacDonald Brand OAM (d)

1979  Sheila Kruse OAM (d)

1973  Julie Henry (d)

1972  Dr Nancy Burbidge AM (d)